Dr Johnny Wu

MBBS(Hons 1), BMedSc, MMedSc (Ophthal), FRANZCO
Adj A/Professor – Curtin University
“I have dedicated my life with the aim of achieving ophthalmic surgical and medical excellence tailored to each individual patient. My commitment has driven me to complete three Postgraduate Surgical fellowships in renowned eye institutes across Australia, UK and North America.”
– Dr Johnny Wu.

Specialist training and consulting

Dr Wu completed the qualifications and became a Fellow of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists – 2008.

In 2008 Dr Wu earned his FRANZCO distinction, recognised as a Specialist Ophthalmologist.

The distinction is only awarded to specialist surgeons who have completed a minimum of 12 years medical and surgical education, with at least 5 years of specialist postgraduate Ophthalmology training and successful completion of examinations set by The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO).

Cataract and Glaucoma surgery, Neuro-ophthalmology & Squints surgery at:
Birmingham & Midlands Eye Centre,  Birmingham, UK – 2007.
Moorfields Eye Hospital and Queens Square National Hospital,  London, UK – 2007.
Toronto Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada – 2008.

Provided locum consultant ophthalmologist sessional cover at:
University of Birmingham NHS Trust UK – 2007.
Princess Margaret Hospital, Perth, Australia – 2009/10.

Adj A/Professor – Curtin University.


Masters of Medicine/Science (Ophthalmology) – 2002.

Graduated with First class Honours and Dux of University medical school – 1998.

University of Tasmania:
Bachelor of Medical Science – 1995.

State Dux of Tasmanian Year 12 Matriculation Exams 1992 (Tertiary Quota Score 100).




University of Western Australia:
Awarded the highest ranked prestigious National Health & Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Gustav Nossal Scholarship, and University of Western Australia A & A Saw Scholarship for Postgraduate study in Clinical Risk Factors as potential disease phenotypic modifiers in Wet versus Dry Macular Degeneration – 2006.


Awarded the Australian Postgraduate Award for Masters thesis
Clinical Risk Factors for Familial versus Sporadic Glaucoma – 2001.

Awarded The Royal Australian College of Ophthalmologists Medal – 1999.

Australian Medical Association (AMA) Gold Medal for best medical graduate in final years, and Dean’s Roll of Excellence – 1998.

Graduated with First class Honours and Dux of University of Tasmania medical school – 1998.

Undergraduate Prizes/Medals – University of Tasmania for:
Surgery | Medicine | General Practice | Psychiatry | Obstetrics | Neurosciences | Anatomy | Pharmacology – Achieved between 1993 – 1998.

Held numerous University Academic Scholarships & Bursaries for high academic achievement – Achieved between 1993 – 1998.

M. Rushforth Prize: For highest proficiency in Ophthalmology – 1997.


Golden Key National Honour Society for Excellence:
High achievement for University medical studies – 1995.

Ophthalmology Contributions


Dr Wu and Dr Lai were the first surgeons to introduce Zepto Micropulse Capsulotomy-assisted Cataract surgery in Western Australia – 2017.
Find out more at – www.zepto-cataract.com

The first in Australia to own and use the combined Lumenis Trio lasers for the treatment of Intraocular lens capsular opacification post Cataract surgery, Open Angle and Narrow Angle Glaucoma, Diabetic Retinopathy and a range of Retinal and Macular pathology.

Past Secretary of the Western Australia branch of the Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO).

Demonstrated and taught cataract phacoemulsification surgery to ophthalmologists in Bali, Indonesia through the John Fawcett Eye Foundation and Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists.

Screening trips to Broome & North Kimberleys through the Western Australian Lions Save Sight program.

The Association of Commonwealth Universities medical elective scholarship for study of Ophthalmology & Surgery in developing countries.

Lectures to Ophthalmology registrars and medical students in:
University of Birmingham NHS Trust – 2007.
University of Toronto – 2008.
Curtin University, Western Australia – 2017 – present.

Undergraduate Ophthalmology lecturer and examiner:
University of Western Australia – 2009.
Curtin University, Western Australia – 2017 – present.

Published numerous Ophthalmology papers in international peer-reviewed journals and co-authored a book chapter, and presented them at a number of international and national scientific meetings, including:
The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO),
Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO)
North American Neuro-ophthalmologists Society (NANOS) congresses.

Professional memberships/affiliations



Australian Society of Cataract Refractive Surgeons (AUSCRS).


Other professional affiliations include:

  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists
  • American Association of Paediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus (AAPOS)
  • International Strabismus Association (ISA)
  • ANZSRS – Australian and New Zealand Society of Retinal Specialists (ANZRS)
  • Australian Medical Association (AMA)
  • University of Toronto Postgraduate Medical Alumni
  • Independent Ophthalmic Network (ION).